A Little Rain Goes a Long Way

Baby Cucumber

It is amazing how much better the garden does with reasonable temperatures. The early rain we had this weekend will also go a long way. The plants are a better, deeper color green, tomatoes are so heavy I can barely stake or support them, and everything is in full blossom.

Sun Gold Cherry Tomato on Vine

Last weekend we picked the first few cherry tomatoes. This weekend we will pick a few more. This is easily a month or more earlier than normal for us. We even have a big tomato ripening, Yay! I will also have enough Thai Hot Peppers to ferment again this year. I have two jars on my counter that have been happily fermenting away with garlic for 2 and 3 years. Why so long? Why not, plus, I have to find a good way to remove the seeds, which I haven’t found yet.

purple Bumblebee Tomatoes

While things are generally going great so far, one problem does keep resurfacing: whatever pest keeps digging holes in the garden now also digs up a plant or two. We have tried putting water bowls out for it but it keeps digging. Holes I can tolerate. Digging up plants I cannot. So, I will try a two pronged approach this week: increased pine needle mulch and spraying a mixture of ground ghost peppers and vinegar around. Now I’ll just have to remember to wear gloves when I work in the garden.

Leave a comment