Ghost in the Desert

Ghosts were part of growing up in New England. They were accepted and known to inhabit certain houses. You even have to disclose such inhabitants in real estate deals. Here in Arizona I have found people think of ghosts as part of lore and legend; part of a mythical world that inhabits imaginations not houses. Of course a number of people in Arizona I talk to don’t believe in the mob either and seem to think it part of Hollywood storytelling. I guess the flip side of incredulous belief is that many people I talked to in New England about the Arizona desert, but who had not been to Arizona, believed the desert to be the same as the Sahara – vast areas completely devoid of all life. Sand as far as the eye can see.

What was not part of growing up in New England, at least when I was growing up, was spicy food. I still know people who view cracked black pepper as overly spicy and when I would cook for them I had to be careful about how much I used. I have always liked spicy food. I don’t grow jalapeno peppers anymore because I find them too mild for most uses. I do like them smoked and dried, made into chipotles. For salsa and other recipes I gravitate to a mix of serrano and habanero peppers. I think I am soon to meet my spicy better. My own little ghost in the desert.

About 15 months ago a long-time friend from New England (whose former house is haunted but likes spicy food – a true rebel) sent me a ghost pepper seed. I started the seed and it grew nicely. Then the summer heat hit and it struggled. A few weeks ago, right before our deep freeze, I dug up the pepper and moved it inside, something I should have done for the summer. The plant was very happy. It started growing lots of new leaves. Over the past weekend it started blossoming. I have not noticed any little peppers forming yet, but I am optimistic the little peppers are starting and will develop shortly.  The question Jake keeps asking is “How will I eat the pepper?” I don’t have an answer yet. A pepper as hot as it reportedly is intimidates me. That is real heat. He also asked how a pepper forms from a pollinated blossom. Another question I do not have a good answer for.

Jake still wants to video me eating the pepper. He assures me the mouth searing pain disappears after an hour so it wouldn’t be that bad. Other than becoming an internet video yahoo, any ideas on how to use a ghost pepper?

I will post a photo when a pepper forms and if so, what it looks like grown.

2 thoughts on “Ghost in the Desert

  1. Bert

    This is really scary.

    Now you apparently have a haunted house in Arizona, so you are returning to your New England roots.

    And I know why people out here don’t believe in the mob. They have the cartels so handily nearby.

  2. Pingback: Francis’s Ghost Pepper Hot Sauce | Smoketree Cellars

Leave a Reply

